IHRA Div. 4 Summit Team Finals

IHRA Div. 4 Summit Team Finals

San Antonio Raceway wins team championship

The IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Team Finals presented by AMSOIL season continued Sept. 26-28 with the Division 4 Team Finals at Pine Valley Raceway in Lufkin, Texas.

San Antonio Raceway won the team championship by three points in a closely contested team battle. San Antonio Raceway finished the event with 43 points, just ahead of Big Country Raceway with 40 points. Host track Pine Valley Raceway was third with 36 points, followed by Redline Raceway (29) and Little River Raceway (28). Other teams in competition at the Division 4 Team Finals were Lonestar Motorsports Park, Wichita Raceway Park, Edinburg Raceway and State Capitol Raceway.

In the Division 4 Summit SuperSeries presented by AMSOIL runoff, Kevin Henry, Sambo Tyra and Justin Hutto won their respective classes, joining runner-up finishers Amber Rose-Smith, Billy Janousek and Michael Turman as all six drivers advance to the championship runoff October 10-11 at the IHRA Summit Racing Equipment World Finals.

Kevin Henry kicked off Friday's Summit SuperSeries runoff action with a victory over Amber Rose-Smith in the finals of Top ET. The only non-Texan to reach the finals, Henry, representing State Capitol Raceway in Louisiana, defeated Rose-Smith in a nearly heads-up affair. Henry and Rose-Smith had identical .031 reaction times as Henry got it done on the top end, running a 4.692-second elapsed time on a 4.69 dial at 147.69 mph. Rose-Smith, from Big Country Raceway, had a 4.645 on a 4.63 at 146.34 mph.

In Mod ET, Sambo Tyra (near lane), representing Big Country Raceway, defeated Billy Janousek in another close final. Janousek, from Lonestar Motorsports Park, had a slight advantage on the tree, but Tyra made up for it with a 5.974 on a 5.94 at 109.17 mph. Janousek crossed the stripe with a 6.389 on a 6.33 at 106.99 mph.