Brainerd wins team championship, four headed to nationals

Brainerd International Raceway took home the coveted Team Championship while four individual racers scored wins at the NHRA Summit Racing Series West Central Division Finals at Heartland Park Topeka and are heading to the NHRA Summit Racing Series National Championship in California.

Racers from BIR racked up 51 points to take a commanding lead in the team championship as they held on to top Kansas International Dragway and SRCA Dragstrip who tied for second with 39. I-29 Dragway was fourth at 37 and host track Heartland Park was fifth with 35.

Todd Piper led the list of winners putting together a .020 second package with a near perfect .003 reaction time in Super Pro to knock out Jeremy Smith for the win. Piper, Wamefo, Kan., clocked in at 7.277 seconds at 175.59 mph with Smith, Great Bend, Kan., crossing the line in 8.995, 178.07

In the Pro class it was Troy Ross, Emporia, Kan., taking the holeshot in his ’69 Nova which forced Nick Siebert to break out by .026 seconds in his ’64 Buick. Ross’ 10.526 second lap at 117.62 took the win with Siebert coming in at 10.844, 118.26.

Kansas racers continued to dominate as Korbynn Stallbaumer, Wakaruse, Kan., upended Kyle Tripp, Golden, Colo. It was close at the start but Stallbaumer was better at the strip posting a 12.224 second run at 101.32 mph in a ’83 Chevy to Tripp’s 12.068, 111.03 in his ’69 Coronet.

The three will be joined by former division champion Tom Klemme in their quest for the Summit National Championship in November when they will battle division champions from across the country at the Auto Club NHRA Finals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona. Klemme faced off with Jon Haney who took the early lead in Bike/Sled with a stellar .003 second reaction time but Klemme had the power and drove around him with an 8.998 second pass at 129.01 mph on his ’73 Suzuki. Haney clocked in at 9.952, 132.80.

The High School title went to Travis Steffens who defeated Colton Wheeler by 6-hundredths of a second in his ’00 S-10. Steffens, Sherrill, Iowa, went 108.60 mph in 12.197 seconds to overtake Wheeler, Wichita, Kan., and his ’68 Camaro at 12.573, 102.04.

Saturday’s action was highlighted by the Race of Champions where Steffens also advanced to the finals in High School but fell to Andrew Osterhaus, Dewitt, Neb. Osterhaus held off Steffens with his ’08 Ford running 17.376 seconds at 76.41 mph.

Osterhaus was joined by Rodney Rasgorshek, Todd Casper, Brandon Schmall and Jimmy Paulson who each took home Race of Champions honors.

Rasgorshek, Kimball, Neb., drove his ’93 Mustang to the win over Anthony Bignell, Eau Claire, Wis., in the Super Pro ROC. His 11.039 was enough to hold off Bignell’s ’09 dragster at 7.815, 171.49.

Casper, Lake Preston, S.D., got the win in Pro courtesy of a red light foul start when Wichita, Kan., racer Chris Gray left early. Casper ran it out to a 9.229, 145.88 in his ’69 Trans AM.

Brainerd International Raceway 51
Kansas International Dragway 39
SRCA Dragstrip 39
I-29 Dragway 37
Heartland Park Topeka 35
Bandimere Speedway 34
Grove Creek Dragway 26
Kearney Raceway 25
Tri State Raceway 24
Pueblo Motorsports Park 21
Rock Falls Raceway 20
Julesburg Dragstrip 19
Top End Dragway 12
Oahe Speedway 11
Douglas Motorsports Park 7
Sturgis Dragstrip 1

SUPER PRO: Todd Piper, Wamego, Kan., ’14 dragster, 7.277, 175.59 def. Jeremy Smith, Great Bend, Kan., ’08 dragster, 8.995, 178.07.

PRO: Troy Ross, Emporia, Kan., ’69 Nova, 10.526, 117.62 def. Nick Siebert, Wamego, Kan., ’64 Buick, 10.844, 118.26.

SPORTSMAN: Korbynn Stallbaumer, Wakarusa, Kan., ’83 Chevy, 12.224, 101.32 def. Kyle Tripp, Golden, Colo., ’69 Coronet, 12.068, 111.03.

BIKE/SLED: Tom Klemme, Davenport, Iowa, ’73 Suzuki, 8.998, 129.01 def. Jon Haney, Wichita, Kan., ’99 Honda, 9.952, 132.80.

HIGH SCHOOL: Travis Steffens, Sherrill, Iowa, ’00 S-10, 12.197, 108.60 def. Colton Wheeler, Wichita, Kan., ’68 Camaro, 12.573, 102.04.

Race of Champions

SUPER PRO ROC: Rodney Rasgorshek, Kimball, Neb., ’92 Mustang, 11.039, 120.54 def. Anthony Bignell, Eau Claire, Wis., ’09 dragster, 7.815, 171.49.

PRO ROC: Todd Casper, Lake Preston, S.D., ’69 Trans AM, 9.229, 145.88 def. Chris Gray, Wichita, Kan., ’79 Capri, foul.

SPORTSMAN ROC: Brandon Schmall, Lino Lakes, Minn., ’74 Dart, 12.292, 94.13 def. Alix Risse, Waterloo, Iowa, ’67 Camaro, 13.210, 89.48.

BIKE/SLED ROC: Jimmy Paulson, Stacy, Minn., ’12 Clampitt, 9.137, 136.68 def. Chris Boom, Pierre, S.D., ’01 Arctic CAT, 10.066, 121.99.

HIGH SCHOOL ROC: Andrew Osterhaus, Dewitt, Neb., ’08 Ford, 17.376, 76.41 def. Travis Steffens, Sherrill, Iowa, ’00 S-10, 12.198, 106.13.