Eckel adds another win, Longhany takes first at Bristol

Don Eckel collected his third win this year while Ed Longhany captured his first ever win Sept. 27 for the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series at Thunder Valley Bristol Dragway.

Eckel, Piscataway, N.J., faced off with Glen Treadwell, Sorrento, Fla., in a battle similar to David versus Goliath. The seasoned veteran racer Treadwell left early and slowed almost immediately, leaving Eckel unchallenged in collecting his third divisional NHRA Wally trophy in Comp Eliminator, with prior wins at Maple Grove and Atco this season.

Longhany, Wade, N.C., captured his first NHRA win running 10.605 seconds at 122.63 mph in Super Stock over Joel Warren, Clinton, N.C. Warren had the starting line advantage, but gave up the win by about four inches. This is Longhanys first ever divisional win in his first final round appearance in Super Stock.

Joining Longhany as a first time winner was Jerry Mason in Super Comp. It was Mason’s second final round appearance as he took out Ryan Richardson for the win and his first Wally trophy. Richardson, Greenbrier, Tenn., ran a great race with a .039 package but was out run by Mason who posted a .038 package and a margin of victory of approximately 3 inches.

Kevin Helms, Schriever, La., had a pass of 9.245 seconds at 123.56 mph defeating Jeff Longhany, Wade, N.C., who had a runner up pass of 10.715 seconds at 124.75 mph. Helms earned his 20th divisional win, 17th win in Stock Eliminator, and three wins in Super Stock. Helms’ has been racing since 1990 when he recorded his first win at Bandimere Speedway in Stock Eliminator.

The Super Gas title went to Steve Hoyt out of Fort Wayne, Ind., and his ’63 Corvette posting a lap of 9.906 seconds at 167.59 mph to defeat Leo Zynda of Clinton Township, Mich., who went 9.844 seconds at 158.32 mph. Steve Hoyt posted a .015 package that left no room for Zynda to capture the win. Hoyt has seven divisional Wallys; with this win being his fifth in Super Gas.

In Super Street it was a “lucky thirteenth” final round for Lamar Stevenson’s, Montgomery, Ala., who took the stripe by 0.0390 seconds in a double breakout over Michelle Furr, Galax, Va. This win is Stevenson’s eighth career win in Super Street, his first this year.

Ryan Ondrejko, Rosindale, Mass., won in the Davis Golf Cart Top Sportsman Series covering the quarter mile in 6.852, 202.76 against Jackie Robinson, Greer, S.C.; and Mike Trauth, Alexandra, Ky., won in the Hickory Enclosed Trailer Sales Top Dragster Series. Trauth drove his dragster past Karma Hopper, Walton, Ky., in 8.151 seconds at 140.25 mph.

The NHRA Harley-Davidson Drag Racing Series was also in action as Janette Thornley from Mocksville, N.C., ran consistent all day and took out Dennis Fisher, Dayton, Ohio, in the final round of Pro Fuel. It was William Rowe Jr in Pro Gas Harley who had the better light, but he could not run with Jay Wagner, Warsaw, Ind., who took home the win.

Joining in with Harley-Davidson Series wins was defending champion Troy Young defeating Joe Perry in Hot Street; Ken Winsor went unopposed in Draggin’ Bagger; Joe Perry took the win in Street Pro Harley; and William Rowe, Jr. won easily in the Screamin’ Eagle Performance class.

The NHRA Southeast division also hosts their index class with Brendan Georga winning in 11.00 Index over Chris Justus, Hurley, Va., as they both posted great lights, but Georga was closer to the index to collect the win.

NHRA Southeast Division racers head to Silver Dollar Raceway for their next NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event, Oct. 23-25.

The following are the final results from the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event at Bristol Dragway:

Don Eckel, Piscataway, N.J., ProStart, C/DA, 7.140, 186.72 def. Glen Treadwell, Sorrento, Fla., ProStart, J/DA, 25.871, 29.81.

Ed Longhany, Wade, N.C., ’74 Duster, SS/KA, 10.605, 122.63 def. Joel Warren, Clinton, N.C., ’98 Firebird, SS/JA, 10.443, 121.32.

Kevin Helms, Schriever, La., ’10 Challenger, FS/B, 9.245, 123.56 def. Jeff Longhany, Wade, N.C., ’99 Firebird, A/SA, 10.715, 124.75.

Jeremy Mason, Waco, Ky., dragster, 8.907, 167.20 def. Ryan Richardson, Greenbrier, Tenn., dragster, 8.909, 167.57.

Steve Hoyt, Fort Wayne, Ind., ’63 Corvette, 9.906, 167.59 def. Leo Zynda, Clinton Twp, Mich., ’90 Cavalier, 9.844, 158.32.

Lamar Stevenson, Montgomery, Ala., ’69 Camaro, 10.867, 122.18 def. Michelle Furr, Galax, Va., ’68 Camaro, 10.861, 127.94.

Mike Trauth, Alexandria, Ky., dragster, 7.304, 169.30 def. Karma Hopper, Walton, Ky., dragster, 8.151, 140.25.

Ryan Ondrejko, Roslindale, Mass., ’12 Camaro, 6.852, 202.76 def. Jackie Robison, Greer, S.C., ’66 Chevy II, 6.752, 203.86.

11.00 INDEX
Brendan Georga, Gainesville, Fla., ’92 Mustang, 11.029, 118.17 def. Chris Justus, Hurley, Va., ’68 Camaro, 11.041, 119.88.

Janette Thornley, Mocksville, N.C., ’15 Hawaya, 7.550, 163.97 def. Dennis Fisher, Dayton, Ohio, ’11 PFH, 7.653, 162.47.

Jay Wagner, Warsaw, Ind., ’06 H-D, 7.681, 155.81 def. William Rowe Jr., Hellertown, Pa., ’06 H-D, 11.054, 119.52.

Troy Young, Wietz, Va., ’00 H-D, 10.024, 127.76 def. Joe Perry, Kingsport, Tenn., ’94 H-D, foul.

Ken Winsor, Alexandria, Va., ’09 Street Glide, 11.779, 109.53 was unopposed.

Joe Perry, Kingsport, Tenn., ’83 H-D, 10.600, 123.36 was unopposed.

William Rowe Jr., Hellertown, Pa., ’06 H-D, 10.356, 124.71 was unopposed.