Shields and Ferro lead the way in Charlotte

Duane Shields and Mickey Ferro led the list of Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series winners at the eighth annual NHRA Carolina Nationals at zMax Dragway.
Shields worked his way through the Top Alcohol Dragster field from the No. 2 qualifying position, meeting up against Brandon Booher in the final. Booher laid down a nice light off the tree, but didn’t have enough to hold off Shields as he snuck by him near half-track clocking in at5.318 seconds at 273.05 mph. Booher crossed the finish line at 5.444, 268.87 for his runner up finish.
The Top Alcohol Funny Car title was handed over to Mickey Ferro as 2014 National Champion Steve Harker left a bit too early at the starting line. Ferro battled his way through Swedish racers Jonnie Lindberg and Ulf Leanders in the opening rounds, Andy Bohl in the semis, and now sits a perfect 2-0 against Harker in final rounds.
Glen Treadwell picked up the easy win in Comp Eliminator as Frank Aragona Jr. flipped on the red bulb in the final round. Treadwell picked up his tenth win, denying Aragona the event double up. Less than an hour earlier, Aragona worked his way through six rounds of Super Comp to pick up his seventh win. He used a .008 reaction time at the tree and held off Scott Albrecht for the victory.
The Super Stock Wally trophy went to Chuck Gallagher for his seventh national event win. He had the reaction time advantage off the tree and clocked in at 8.251 seconds at 162.37 mph to defeat Brian Martel. Brad Plourd powered his Chevy II to the Stock Eliminator win as he defeated Kevin Helms in the double breakout money round. The two combine for 42 national event wins, with Plourd now the owner of 19 Wally trophies.
Mike Sawyer is making a late push for Super Gas National Champion, and helped his case as he picked up the trophy here in Charlotte. Jeff Burns got off the line first, but Sawyer was able to draw him in with a 9.975 second, 154.79 mph pass and a margin of victory of less than two feet.
Due to inclement weather at the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals (Bristol, Tenn.) back in June, Super Stock, Super Comp, and Super Gas were also contested and completed over the weekend. Mike Saye and Emily Volkman got off the line side by side in the Super Stock final, but Saye pushed just ahead for his 15th win. Saye clocked in at 10.321 seconds at 122.43 mph to defeat Volkman’s 10.695, 121.39 pass. Jeff Burns picked up his first national event Wally trophy as he got off the line first and held on to defeat Michelle Furr in the Super Comp final. Ray Connolly dropped a .001 reaction time but that wasn’t enough to hold off John Taylor. Connolly broke out on the 9.90 index giving the win to Taylor for his third national event title.
TOP ALCOHOL DRAGSTER: Duane Shields, 5.318, 273.05 def. Brandon Booher, 5.444, 268.87.
TOP ALCOHOL FUNNY CAR: Mickey Ferro, Chevy Monte Carlo, broke def. Steve Harker, Chevy Camaro, broke.
COMP ELIMINATOR: Glen Treadwell, Dragster, 13.899, 67.78 def. Frank Aragona Jr., Dragster, foul.
SUPER STOCK: Chuck Gallagher, Pontiac Sunbird, 8.251, 162.37 def. Brian Martel, Chevy Cobalt, 9.477, 140.90.
STOCK ELIMINATOR: Brad Plourd, Chevy II, 12.287, 101.78 def. Kevin Helms, Dodge Challenger, 9.155, 129.10.
SUPER COMP: Frank Aragona Jr., Dragster, 8.924, 173.12 def. Scott Albrecht, Dragster, 8.930, 172.59.
SUPER GAS: Mike Sawyer, Chevy Cavalier, 9.975, 154.79 def. Jeff Burns, Chevy Corvette, 9.989, 155.02.

Following are final results from the rain-delayed NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals event:
SUPER STOCK: Mike Saye, 10.321, 122.43 def. Emily Volkman, 10.695, 121.39
SUPER COMP: Jeff Burns, 8.921, 170.47 def. Michelle Furr, 8.912, 165.94
SUPER GAS: John Taylor, 9.945, 162.02 def. Ray Connolly 9.863, 149.20