Tulsa Raceway Park scores NHRA South Central Division team title

Tulsa Raceway Park captured the team championship at the NHRA Summit Racing Series South Central Division Championship at Texas Motorplex while four scored individual championships and are heading to the Summit National Championship in Pomona, Calif., next month.

The Tulsa, Okla., team racked up 55 points in the team competition led by Martin Brown who took home the trophy in No Electronics Street/Sportsman. The host team, Texas Motorplex, held onto a tie for second with Texas Raceway as each team scored 54 points. Thunder Valley Raceway Park came up just short with a total of 53 points.

Brown, Colliville, Okla., defeated Parker Devore, Sulphur, Okla., in the Sportsman final and will represent Division 4 in Pomona. Brown had the starting line advantage and posted a winning run of 7.674 seconds, 90.59 mph. Devore had a runner-up finish of 7.471 seconds, 88.77 mph.

Chris Eidson, Mineral Wells, Texas, defeated Steve Collier, Benton, La., in the Pro final and then went on to beat the Super Pro Champion Don Boulware, Irving, Texas in the Super Pro/Pro ET Runoff to determine who will represent the South Central Division in Pomona. Eidson’s 6.733 pass at 114.23 mph was enough to take the win over Collier. Boulware drove his ’02 Mullis to the win in Super Pro at 4.670, 146.75 over Billy Simpson, Kennedale, Texas, and his ’67 Chevy, 6.127, 109.24.

Robert Howard, Rowlett, Texas, ran down Cory Worley, Rockwall, Texas, in No Electronics /Pro. Howard ran 6.519, 101.05 in his ’70 Pontiac with Worley clocking in at 6.415, 107.63 in his ’67 Camaro.

Brenda Kay, Humble, Texas, rode her ’85 GSXR to the win in the Motorcycle class and will join Eidson, Howard, and Brown in Pomona to face off with the champions from the six other NHRA Divisions. Kay went 5.416 at 125.05 to defeat Paul Holman, Houston, posting a time of 7.127, 94.77.

In the Race of Champions competition it was Chase Stookey, Inola, Okla., taking the win in Electronics over Steve McDermot, Mansfield, Texas; Kris Gassaway, Norman, Okla., defeated Parker Devore, Sulphur, Okla., in No Electronics; the Bike/Sled title went to Ricky Martin, Coweta, Okla., who outran Dean Leblanc, New Iberia, La., who went red off the line; and taking the win in High School was Dillon Warren, Noble, Okla., over Carter Jones, Cookville, Texas.

The following are the final results from the NHRA South Central Division Summit Racing Series event at Texas Motorplex:

1. Tulsa Raceway Park 55
2. Texas Raceway 54
2. Texas Motorplex 54
3. Thunder Valley Raceway Park 53
4. Royal Purple Raceway 51
5. Paris Dragstrip 36
6. Thunder Road Raceway 34
7. No Problem 11

SUPER PRO/PRO ET RUNOFF: Chris Eidson, Mineral Wells, Texas, ’63 Corvette, 6.740, 114.85 def. Don Boulware, Irving, Texas, ’02 Mullis, 4.671, 147.07.

SUPER PRO: Don Boulware, Irving, Texas, ’02 mullis, 4.670, 146.75 def. Billy Simpson, Kennedale, Texas, ’67 Chevy Ii, 6.127, 109.24.

PRO ET: Chris Eidson, Mineral Wells, La., dragster, 6.733, 114.23 def. Steve Collier, Benton, La., ’72 Vega, 6.419, 126.38.

NO ELECTRONICS/PRO: Robert Howard, Rowlett, Texas, ’70 Pontiac, 6.519, 101.05 def. Cory Worley, Rockwall, Texas, ’67 Camaro, 6.415, 107.63.

SPORTSMAN: Martin Brown, Colliville, Okla., ’69 Nova, 7.674, 90.59 def. Parker Devore, Sulphur, Okla., ’67 Baracuda, 7.471, 88.77.

BIKE/SLED: Brenda Kay, Humble, Texas, ’85 GSXR, 5.416, 125.05 def. Paul Holman, Houston, ’84 Suzuki, 7.127, 94.77.

ELECTRONICS: Chase Stookey, Inola, Okla., ’00 Mullis, 5.465, 122.72 def. Steve McDermot, Mansfield, Texas, ’14 Undercover, 4.819, 141.08.

NO ELECTRONICS: Kris Gassaway, Norman, Okla., ’92 Mustang, 6.435, 105.48 def. Parker Devore, Sulphur, Okla., ’67 Baracuda, 6.477, 104.85.

BIKE/SLED: Ricky Martin, Coweta, Okla., dragster, 5.912, 115.62 def. Dean Leblanc, New Iberia, foul.

HIGH SCHOOL: Dillion Warren, Noble, Okla., ’87 Mustang, 9.551, 76.00 def. Carter Jones, Cookville, Texas, ’01 Camaro, 10.020, 69.55.

TRACK MANAGERS: Randy Hale, 10.060, 67.95 def. Cody Pollage, Plaquemine, La., ’10 Titan, 10.005, 66.18.