NHRA Heritage Series Champions Crowned At Famoso

NHRA Heritage Series Champions Crowned At Famoso

Eight champions were crowned in the NHRA Hot Rod Heritage Series at Auto Club Famoso Raceway and the Nostalgia Fall Championships with both Chris Beanes and Ed Carey grabbing their second.

Beanes, the 2011 A/Gas series champion came into the event in third place, 11 points behind 2012 champion Dean Hall, with Terry Newton in second, 10 points back.  As luck would have it, Newton and Hall met up in round one with Hall taking the win and ending Newton’s championship hopes.  In round two, it was Beanes and Hall that would battle for what could be the championship as Ray Padgett, Brendon Frye and Steve Faller were still in competition with an outside shot.  Beanes, Valencia, Calif., defeated Hall and went on to win the event, his second this year, and the championship.  Hall held on to finish second in the points standings.

Carey, La Jolla, Calif., was looking to repeat his 2012 D/Gas championship run and locked things up in round two when he knocked out Trey Sommers, Escondido, Calif., who was the lone survivor that could overtake Carey.  Carey also won the season opening March Meet at Famoso and has dominated the class finishing second in points in both 2011 and 2009 to go along with his pair of championships.

Ken Brown

One of the biggest surprises of the day was in C/Gas when Jason Barta, Dan Crisp and Dave Dubose, who were all tied for first, fell in round one of eliminations leaving the door open for Ken Brown, Neal Westbrook and Chris Kurtis. Westbrook fell to Kurtis in the semifinals while Brown, Ventura, Calif., worked his way through eliminations, earning a bye in to the finals which secured the championship.  Kurtis, Bakersfield, Calif., beat Brown in the final, took home the event win and finished second in the points chase.  Brown combined his runner up finish with a win at the March Meet for his championship.

The B/Gas championship wasn’t quite as dramatic as John Saliani led Kevin Riley by 53 points coming into the event with two wins in the first two events (March Meet and the Nostalgia Reunion in Sacramento).  Riley fell in round one giving the championship to Saliani of Saugus, Calif.  Jessie Wooton went on to win the event and jump into second.

Hot Rod Eliminator saw more than 10 competitors with a shot at the title with the point’s leader Dan Cargill, Bullhead City, Ariz., sitting on top at 113 points and Kurt Kaemeale back in eleventh at 70.  Kaemeale, Redondo Beach, Calif., was the class runner up in 2012 and worked his way through eliminations as other drivers dropped out early, including Cargill in round two.  Kaemeale, having to win the event to overtake Cargill, beat Shane Pulido in the semifinals and would face off with Roger McGregor, Glendora, Calif., in the final.  Kaemeale left early by .005 seconds giving McGregor the win and Cargill the 2013 Hot Rod Championship.  Kaemeale finished second for the second year in a row.